how not to get drunk

it’s been sometime since the last time i posted something here. i wanted to say that i was busy – perhaps working with the president of zimbabwe, but the thing is procrastination got the best of me. what used to be “one hour later” turned to “one week later” and suddenly we’re in 2016. awesome.

my life is still pretty okay with a hint of weirdness here and there. i finally graduated, dreamed of being a grand researcher of the future before life crushed me and told me that i’m just an unemployed kid who somehow now can pay her own rent. my private life, like usual, is still somewhat mysterious except to my two best confidantes (read: people who know what’s messed up in my life) while i pretend to live by dalai lama’s quotes.

so now, to celebrate my comeback to this blog, i would like to speak about “how not to get drunk (and ways to get drunk if you can’t help it)”. i won’t say that this is important, but if you happen to visit a bar that sells tequila 17K a shot; my advice would be: just DON’T.

like i have said before somewhere in this blog, i usually only drink beers. bintang being my favorite, nowadays i love chilled san miguel light with a slice of lime. it goes well with snacks and makes conversation better.

aaaanyways… i don’t mind hard liquor once in a while. especially if your friend had a bottle of Finlandia vodka as a gift and you think it’s way better than Absolut. one thing to understand though; i don’t usually buy hard liquor in bars. first thing first, they’re hella expensive. and not everyone is willing to give free coke as chaser (except if the bartender is trying to get your number or something. trust me, i’ve been there.). plus, hard liquor makes you drunk fast. real fast if you’re a lightweight and stupid. and unless you want to be annoying the whole night, getting drunk is not the way to go in public places.

my first encounter with tequila happened in a bar in bali. i, broke as usual, only bought beers while waiting for the right time to dance because the blokes kept flooding the floor. aaaand suddenly, some dude handed a shot glass to me while saying “it’s from my friend”. then i looked at my friends and wise as she was, one of my friends said that i could refuse the drink if i didn’t want it.

BUT WHY WOULD I DO THAT RIGHT??

honestly, i didn’t know what’s inside that glass. it looked clear, a bit like pee under the disco balls, but not whiskey. all i know is that whatever is was, it must be expensive. 90K-for-gin-and-tonic expensive. or 120K-for-long-island-expensive. now, if i was alone, this scenario would not exist in any way because… it’s impossible for me to go to a bar ALONE in this country, and, i’m too paranoid to drink or eat whatever some sketchy guys hand me.

but i was with my friends, and second worst scenario was that if somebody had added roofies in it, i would just collapse and force my buddies to drag my unconscious ass home (the ultimate worst scenario was that the drink was poisoned and i would instantly R.I.P). so why would i send the drink back, right?? might as well enjoy the free drink.

so i sniffed the drink, let my friend sniff it too, decided that it was tequila, and downed it. i forgot how it tasted like, except that it tasted like free stuff. i was grateful and continued enjoying my time until it’s 2 AM and time to go home.

frankly, i only drank two small bottle of beers and that one shot of tequila. but boy, i felt like a tipsy idiot already when we got out of the bar. shit got into my brain so fast i couldn’t walk straight. let’s just say at that moment i knew tequila and me had a very bad fengshui.

but lesson is better learnt the hard way, they say. and disaster came to me when a friend of mine called me one evening saying that there’s this bar having a happy hour and sold tequila for 17K a shot. so we decided to gather our friends up and headed there to have fun.

i usually have a strict policy of moderate drinking, but we ordered foods and laughed a lot, and suddenly there were three shots of tequila for each person on our table that night. we ate and laughed and played pool. i ordered beer. we made lame jokes. and we moved to the bar area and the bartender gave us each an extra shot of tequilla. everything happened so fast but i felt fine. one of our friends had been tipsy already but she could walk okay.

while i and my friend made up some crazy story and named ourselves ‘amanda’ and ‘eleanor’ to one of the servers, time flew and we went home. at this point, everything was still okay to me. shit only got to me when i was finally in my room.

it hit me, guys. it hit me BAD.

everything was spinning around me. even when i closed my eyes they were still spinning. i felt like riding a very bad trip on a truck.

and i vomitted.

it was shitty. especially if i remembered that the last time i puked like that was when i drank too much of the Mansion House cheapshit. the equivalent of horse piss in a bottle. you’re grateful everytime you drink it and not turning blind already.

long story short, i fell asleep and woke up at 5 AM to mop my floor because it was covered in vomit.  i also swore i wouldn’t touch more than 2 shots of tequila a night. and really, really, avoid the cheap shit.

anyways, i hope you get what i’m trying to say. and if you don’t, i don’t even care. i just hope i can blog more often.

Tinggalkan komentar